Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Biomedical Materials Group - Research Projects

Project sponsored by Saxony-Anhalt

Power center "Chemical and Biosystem Technics"

Collaborative projects within the program

Saxony-Anhalt SCIENCE

Focus on the subject

Functional molecules from renewable resources

The subproject CBS 7

DESIGN OF BIOACTIVE SURFACE COATINGS AND HYDROGELS FOR MEDICAL APPLICATIONS BASED ON BIOBASED MATERIALS

Runtime: October 1st, 2016 to September 30th, 2019

Coordinator: Dr. rer. nat Alexandros Repanas

Biobased materials such as alginates, cellulose, chitosan and hyaluronans should receive bioactivity through specific chemical reaction that allows their medical use. The bioactivity of polysaccharides is determined by adsorptive or covalent coupling to polymers, ceramics and metals or as cross-linking in situ hydrogels with cell cultures, making new products for medical implants and cell therapy to be selected.

DFG project 2016

In situ gelling hydrogels for cartilage regeneration

Runtime: June 1st, 2016 to May 31st, 2019

Coordinator: Dr. rer. nat. Andrea Liedmann

In situ cross-linking hydrogels are useful for minimal invasive treatment of tissue defects and also for controlled release of drugs. The proposal is focused on the hypothesis that semisynthetic sulfated and oxidized polysaccharides like cellulose and chitosan can be used for generation of hydrogels with tunable mechanical properties, degradation behavior, kinetic of release of growth factor TGF-beta3 and resulting chondrogenic activity towards mesenchymal stem cells to be applicable for regeneration of cartilage. Beside synthesis of cellulose and chitosan derivatives, characterization of mechanical degradation properties and in vitro studies on bioactivity, also spectroscopic and imaging methods shall be used to analyze mass transfer inside hydrogels, mechanical properties, and biocompatibility in vitro and in vivo with a mouse model.

German Research Society (DFG) through Grant GR 1290/11-1

EU Joint Mobility Project - BEAM

Biomedical Engineering - EU Australian cooperation at the master level

Runtime: October 1st, 2014 to September 30th, 2017

Coordinator: Prof. T. Groth

The Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg is a member of a project funded by the European Union, which promotes the exchange of students between Europe and Australia. German students can take courses in the fields of biomedical engineering and pharmacy for 3.5 or 5 months at the Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane or the University of Sydney, and at the same time, in consultation with the Biomedical Materials Group and their colleagues in Australia, prepare a Master or Diploma Thesis.

http://www.beam-jmp.eu   

EU-IAPP project

Network for development of soft nanofibrous construct for cellular therapy of degenerative skeletal disorders

Runtime: January 1st, 2013 to December 31st, 2016

Coordinator: Prof. G. Altankov, ICREA & Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC)

High incidence of degenerative skeletal tissue disorders in a progressively aging human population make tissue engineering of cartilage and bone a focus of extensive research. Bone and joint disorders are the most  common disease in Europe: More than 100 million European citizens suffer  from arthritis and 19 million people have osteoporosis (one of three women and one of eight men are affected). This project is designed to  supplement the existing EuroNanoMed project aimed to develop an innovative strategy for targeting bone and cartilage regeneration. More specifically the project seeks to set up an international multidisciplinary team of young scientists and engineers representing both academia and industry partners that will strongly contribute to the design of a novel type of implant, which can strongly promote tissue regeneration combining high performance materials, advanced nanotechnology and living cells.

http://www.fibrogelnet.org   

DFG project 2013

Effects of the combination of nanostructuring and multilayers of polyelectrolytes on the differentiation of stem cells

Runtime: May 1st, 2013 to July 31st, 2017

Coordinator: Dr.-Ing. Marcus S. Niepel

The extracellular matrix is a substrate that combines chemical stimuli with specific mechanical properties in a 3D environment at the nanoscale, through which cellular response is controlled. The aim of the proposed project is the elucidation of the influence of nanostructured substrates with specific viscoelastic properties on adhesion, growth and differentiation of the murine mesenchymal stem cell line C3H/10T1/2. Tetrahedral gold structures of defined size and spacing are designed on planar model surfaces using the nanosphere lithography (NSL) and subsequently modified with the layer-by-layer (LbL) technique to introduce a system of defined viscoelasticity. Since both the size and number of focal adhesions, which are regulated by the structure dimensions, as well as the mechanical properties of substrate have an impact on the behavior of cells, several effects are expected that influence adhesion growth and differentiation of cells and that shall be investigated using molecular biological methods. In this way, we can draw conclusions on the influence of topographic and viscoelastic surface characteristics on stem cell behavior that are of interest for the development of new biomaterials for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.

German Research Society (DFG) through Grant GR 1290/10-1

Data Bank of the Federal State of Saxony-Anhalt (Germany)

Forschungsdatenbank des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt

[ more ... ]   

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Biomedizinische Materialien - Forschungsprojekte

Landesprojekt Sachsen-Anhalt

Leistungszentrum „Chemie- und Biosystemtechnik“

Verbundvorhaben im Rahmen des Förderprogramms

Sachsen-Anhalt WISSENSCHAFT

Schwerpunkte zum Thema

Funktionelle Moleküle aus regenerierbaren Ressourcen

Mit dem Teilprojekt CBS 7

DESIGN BIOACTIVER OBERFLÄCHENBESCHICHTUNGEN UND HYDROGELE FÜR MEDIZINISCHE ANWENDUNGEN AUF BASIS BIOBASIERTER WERKSTOFFE

Laufzeit: 01.10.2016 - 30.09.2019

Projektbearbeiter: Dr. rer. nat Alexandros Repanas

Biobasierte Werkstoffe wie Alginate, Cellulosen, Chitosane und Hyaluronane sollen durch gezielte chemische Umsetzung eine Bioaktivität erhalten, die deren medizinische Anwendung erlaubt. Die Bioaktivität der Polysaccharide wird nach adsorptiver oder kovalenter Kopplung auf Polymeren, Keramiken und Metallen oder als in situ vernetzende Hydrogele mit Zellkulturen bestimmt, wodurch neue Produkte für medizinische Implantate und Zelltherapie ausgewählt werden können.

DFG Projekt 2016

In situ gelierende Hydrogele zur Regeneration von Knorpel

Laufzeit: 01.06.2016 - 31.05.2019

Projektbearbeiter: Dr. rer. nat Andrea Liedmann

In situ vernetzende Hydrogele können für die minimal-invasive Behandlung von Gewebsdefekten und zur kontrollierten Freisetzung von Pharmaka genutzt werden. Im vorliegenden Antrag soll geprüft werden, ob semisynthetische Polysaccharide auf Basis von Cellulose und Chitosan durch Sulfatierung und Oxidation zu Hydrogelen verformt werden können, die hinsichtlich mechanischer Eigenschaften, ihrem Abbauverhalten, der Kinetik der Freisetzung des Wachstumsfaktors TGF-beta3 und daraus resultierender chondrogenen Aktivität gegenüber mesenchymalen Stammzellen als System zur Regeneration von Knorpel geeignet sind. Neben Arbeiten zur Synthese der Cellulose und Chitosan-Derivate, der Charakterisierung mechanischer Geleigenschaften, des Abbauverhaltens und von in vitro-Studien zur Bioaktivität sollen zusätzlich spektroskopische und Imaging-Methoden zur berührungslosen und zerstörungsfreien Analytik von Massentransfer, mechanischen Eigenschaften und Biokompatibilität der Hydrogele in vitro und im Mausmodell eingesetzt werden. Ergebnisse des Vorhabens werden den Kenntnisstand zur Bioaktivität pflanzlicher und tierischer Polysaccharidderivate verbessern und könnten zukünftig für die Behandlung von Knorpeldefekten nutzbar sein.

DFG GR 1290/11-1

EU Joint Mobility Project - BEAM

Biomedical Engineering - EU Australian cooperation at the master level

Laufzeit: 01.10.2014 - 30.09.2017

Koordinator: Prof. T. Groth

Die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg ist Mitglied eines von der Europäischen Union geförderten Projektes, welches den Austausch von Studenten zwischen Europa und Australien fördert. Dabei können deutsche Studenten ab April 2017 für 3,5 oder 5 Monate an der Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane oder der University of Sydney Kurse auf dem Gebiet des Biomedical Engineerings und der Pharmazie belegen und gleichzeitig in Absprache mit der Arbeitsgruppe Biomedizinische Materialien und den Kollegen in Australien eine Masterarbeit oder Diplomarbeit anfertigen.

http://www.beam-jmp.eu   

EU-IAPP Projekt

Network for development of soft nanofibrous construct for cellular therapy of degenerative skeletal disorders

Laufzeit: 01.01.2013 - 31.12.2016

Koordinator: Prof. G. Altankov, ICREA & Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC)

Eine hohe Inzidenz von degenerativen skelettalen Gewebestörungen in einer zunehmend alternden Bevölkerung machen Tissue Engineering von Knorpel und Knochen ein Schwerpunkt der umfangreichen Forschung. Knochen- und Gelenkerkrankungen sind die häufigste Erkrankung in Europa: Mehr als 100 Millionen europäische Bürger leiden unter Arthritis und 19 Millionen Menschen haben Osteoporose (eine von drei Frauen und einer von acht Männern sind betroffen). Mit diesem Projekt soll die bestehende EuroNanoMed Projekt ergänzt werden, welches innovative Strategien zur gezielten Knochen- und Knorpelregeneration entwickeln soll. Insbesondere soll dieses Projekt ein internationales, multidisziplinäres Team von jungen Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren aus Wissenschaft und Industrie zusammenstellen, das zur Gestaltung eines neuartigen Implantats beitragen wird, welches die Geweberegeneration durch Kombination von Hochleistungsmaterialien, fortschrittlicher Nanotechnologie und lebenden Zellen fördern kann.

http://www.fibrogelnet.org   

DFG Projekt 2013

Effekt der Kombination von Nanostrukturierung und Polyelektrolytmultischichten auf die Differenzierung von Stammzellen

Laufzeit: 01.05.2013 - 31.07.2017

Projektbearbeiter: Dr.-Ing. Marcus S. Niepel

Die extrazelluläre Matrix stellt ein Substrat dar, welches im Nanomaßstab räumlich strukturierte chemische Stimuli mit spezifischen mechanischen Eigenschaften kombiniert, wodurch das Verhalten von Zellen kontrolliert wird. Das Ziel des beantragten Vorhabens besteht in der Aufklärung des Einflusses nanostrukturierter Substrate mit spezifischen viskoelastischen Eigenschaften auf Adhäsion, Wachstum und Differenzierung der mesenchymalen Stammzelllinie C3H/10T1/2 aus der Maus. Dazu werden tetraedrische Goldstrukturen definierter Größe und Abstände mittels Nanosphären-Lithographie (NSL) auf ebenen Modelloberflächen erzeugt und durch eine nachfolgende Modifikation mit der Layer-by-Layer (LbL) Technik Multischichten unterschiedlicher Viskoelastizität erzeugt. Da sowohl die Größe als auch Zahl fokaler Adhäsionen, die durch die Nanostrukturierung des Substrates bestimmt werden, als auch mechanische Eigenschaften von Substraten einen Einfluss auf das Verhalten von Zellen haben, werden Effekte auf Adhäsion, Wachstum und Differenzierung der Zellen erwartet, die mit zell- und molekularbiologischen Methoden erfasst werden. Auf diese Weise können Rückschlüsse auf den Einfluss topographischer und viskoelastischer Oberflächeneigenschaften auf die Verhaltensweise von Stammzellen gezogen werden, welche für die Entwicklung neuer Biomaterialien im Bereich des Tissue Engineerings und der regenerativen Medizin von zukünftigem Nutzen sein können.

DFG GR 1290/10-1

Forschungsdatenbank des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt

Forschungsdatenbank des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt

[ mehr ... ]   

Zum Seitenanfang